APR Support Team

APR Specialist Staff Provide Support in Five Core Areas

APR Specialist Staff Support Team

The support team meets on a monthly basis throughout the year, and we encourage units under review to reach out to us as needed during the review process. 

Verna Bowie 

Director, Academic Program Reviews 

Division of Academic Planning

program-reviews@berkeley.edu

  • Directs process; answers procedure and policy questions.
  • Strategizes about options for faculty/student/staff engagement.
  • Recruits external review committee (ERC).
  • Drafts ERC charge and outcome letters.
  • Monitors follow-up activities.
Malcolm Quon

Institutional Research Analyst

Division of  Academic Planning and Office of Planning and Analysis

malcolm@berkeley.edu 

  • Prepares OPA summary of central data, including comparative analysis of peer institutions
  • Provides ad hoc institutional data support

Amy Scharf

Director, Faculty & Departmental Diversity Initiatives, Equity & Inclusion

Division of Equity and Inclusion

ascharf@berkeley.edu 

  • Supports self-assessment, strategic planning and implemenation for diversity, equity and inclusion
  • Consults with departments on issues of diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging.
Liat Wexler

Prevention Manager, Faculty and Staff

PATH to Care Center

lwexler@berkeley.edu 

  • Planning and implementation support for units as they create a proactive plan to prevent sexual harassment within their academic community. 

Marisella Rodriguez

Senior Consultant

Center for Teaching and Learning

marisella@berkeley.edu

  • Identifies and maps student learning outcomes
  • Selects instruments best suited to assessing student achievement of program-level learning outcomes
  • Designs and implements assessment plan, including data analysis and data use
  • Consults with departments to identify opportunities for enhanced student learning

Audrey Thomas

Institutional Research Analyst

Division of Undergraduate Education and Office of Planning and Analysis

audrey@berkeley.edu